jump to navigation

institutional church #1 – posting the question March 26, 2007

Posted by Cobus in church, Emerging Church, Journal.
trackback

There is so much thoughts running through my head at the moment, on so many different things, but one of the other guidelines I chose to follow when I started this blog was to keep to one post a day, and keep it not to long. The basic reason being that I usually don’t read blogs on which I have to follow very long posts every day.

One of my very good friends got mugged on Saturday, Tiaan, he’s OK, but got a little stab with a knive in the back. Went to hospital today, they just wan’t to make sure it doesn’t get infected or anything. But I’m sure he’ll tell the story when he get to a computer again (which most propably will only be after the holidays).

OK, so I’m touching the institutional church again, posted some thoughts a while ago, but decided to spend some more time pondering this whole question. OK, this is my feeling at the moment. I’m not some modern day apologetic trying to save the institutional church, but I’m also a bit wary to place the blame for what is wrong in the church squarly on the fact that the church is an institution.

One argument being used today is that the church became institutionalized after Constantine or Nicea (+/- 323 ad), and that up to that point the church was non-institutional. Heard that one a few days ago at a Y-knot meeting again.

Maybe just 2 questions. Please do give your ideas on these.

1) What do you think when you hear the word “institutional church”?

2) What do you consider to be the problem with the institutional church?

I’ll try and finish this one up quicker than the De La Rey thread:-)

next post : institutional church #2 – the internet and blog-o-sphere

Comments

1. Glenn - March 27, 2007

1) Closed system. Teachings that are well-meaning , but do not align with Jesus. Leadership captivated by the latest Christian leadership/mega church trend and closed to all else. The need of having an us/them mentality. Easy and inadequate answers. Boring and uninspiring.

2) It is lost in itself and has become self-serving. We are more concerned about trying to develop good church memebers that devoted Christ followers. There is a dishonoring of the individual and a disregard for what God may be doing in someone.

Where is Jesus? How are we being the evidence the evidence of Christ’s Kingdom?

I have deep thoughts that I only seem to be able to cryptically express right now.

2. institutional church #3 - the early church « emerging South Africa - March 31, 2007

[…] first post : institutional church #1 – posting the question […]

3. institutional church #2 - the internet and blog-o-sphere « emerging South Africa - March 31, 2007

[…] first post : institutional church #1 – posting the question […]

4. institutional church #4 - something from the NT « emerging South Africa - April 2, 2007

[…] first post : institutional church #1 – posting the question […]

5. WitheHorse - April 18, 2007

Hi all!
I like this forum!!

6. AnnaFallos - June 22, 2007

Hello, my name is Anna! As you can probably tell, I’m a Christian woman who loves Jesus Christ and cares for all humans, even the wicked. What you probably don’t know is that I’m hot. My picture below isn’t really that good. I want to use my beauty for GOD, and want to encourage Christian women (my sisters in Christ) to do the same, according to the Great Commission.

My homepage

7. David Bosch on the institutional church « my contemplations - November 14, 2007

[…] before moving to this blog, I posted some thoughts in this four posts on the question: institutional church #1 – posting the question institutional church #2 – the internet and blog-o-sphere institutional church #3 – the early church […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

